Sotheby’s Art Institute & Phil Terry

Monday: March 11, 2013

Today was a really exciting day for me. I woke up anxious to get to our meeting at the renowned Sotheby’s Art Institute. Adrienne and I took the subway to Lexington Avenue, an area that we had yet to explore, and took the elevator to the 6th floor where we would meet with Racini Andres.

After our nerves calmed down as we anxiously awaited in the meeting room surrounded by Andy Warhol paintings, Racini politely introduced herself to us and we began to discuss the intense 2-year program. This program was more directed towards what Adrienne wants after we complete our undergraduate degrees; yet, it was very compelling to be able to see what other opportunities exist that involve the arts. As an artist, I found it extremely beneficial to see the programs that gallery administrators must go through in order to have a certified degree in order to administer artwork and to exhibit them. I really enjoyed the facility at Sotheby’s, but I felt that the programs offered were not directed towards my intended needs.

Afterwards, Adrienne and I split up for lunch before our meeting in Brooklyn with Phil Terry. I took the train to Chelsea and popped my head in a few galleries and then took the E train to Brooklyn. We met with Phil Terry at this quaint pie shop called “Four and Twenty Blackbirds.” Adrienne is interning for a non-profit organization created by Phil Terry called ‘Slow Art Day.’ Its purpose it to create an art community across the world that causes the viewer to look at art slowly on Saturday, April 27. It connects all different museums or art galleries all over the world and allows for the viewer to look at pre-assigned artwork for 5-10 minutes. Afterwards, you meet with your volunteer host and the other participants and discuss the work that you observed.

Phil not only explained his ideas for creating this awesome non-profit movement, but he also gave us much insight on the art world for both of our future endeavors. He inquired about my artwork and questioned the purpose of my work, and gave me feedback on what he thinks I should do. What I loved so much about this day was being able to see so many different areas of New York. I can only imagine what is in store for us for the remainder of the trip!

Best,

CoCo

862383_4627179356749_928007488_n